Art Exhibit — “COLORICAN: A Retrospective”

COLORICAN is a self-identifying term coined by artist José Manuel Cruz, to describe his being born to a Colombian mother and Puerto Rican father in the United States of America. COLORICAN: A Retrospective consists of 40 works of various medium by Cruz and is a collective of his work that embodies all of his experiences from growing up in the city of Newark, NJ till the present. This exhibition displays the many facets of Cruz’s career as an artist. His work lends itself to his life as a graffiti artist and the use of the spray can to learning techniques in airbrushing, and his early pen and ink Rapidograph drawings in the third grade to enamel marker drawings today. Cruz has exhibited his works in the United States and abroad. His career as an exhibitionist began during his formative years at the Newark Museum’s Elementary Art Exhibits and continues to this day with his most recent works being featured in Humacao, Puerto Rico.

The museum is open from 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Tuesday through Friday and from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. on Sunday.

Upcoming Dates For This Event:

  • Wednesday, September 18
  • Thursday, September 19
  • Friday, September 20
  • Sunday, September 22
  • Tuesday, September 24
  • Wednesday, September 25
  • Thursday, September 26
  • Friday, September 27
  • Sunday, September 29
  • Tuesday, October 1
  • Wednesday, October 2
  • Thursday, October 3
  • Friday, October 4
  • Sunday, October 6
  • Tuesday, October 8
  • Wednesday, October 9
  • Thursday, October 10
  • Friday, October 11